You are here: Home Trustees Minutes committee personnel 2001 Personnel Committee Minutes -- May 14, 2001 -- Board of Trustees -- University of Louisville

Personnel Committee Minutes -- May 14, 2001 -- Board of Trustees -- University of Louisville

by Bendl,Kurt last modified Nov 08, 2009 04:34 PM

Minutes of the Personnel Committee
Of the University of Louisville Board of Trustees

The Personnel Committee of the Board of Trustees of the University of Louisville met on Monday, May 14, 2001 in the Jefferson Room of Grawemeyer Halll with the members present and absent as follows:

Present: Ms. Linda Wallbaum Cauble, Chair, Presiding
Mr. Grant Helman
Mr. J. Chester Porter
Ms. Melissa Long Shuter
Ms. Elizabeth Worland
Absent: Mr. Darryl Owens
Other Trustees Present:
Ms. Marie Abrams
Mr. Ulysses L. Bridgeman, Jr.
Mr. Carlton Brown
Mr. Kevin D. Cogan
Dr. Richard C. Feldhoff
Mr. Nathaniel E. Green
Mr. Milton M. Livingston
Ms. Jessica S. Loving
Mr. T. W. Samuels, Jr.
Mrs. Joyce Hagen Schifano
Trustees Absent: Mrs. Ann F. Cobb
Mr. William P. Mulloy, Sr
Mrs. Sandra Metts Snowden
Mrs. Mary A. Yarmuth
From the University:
Dr. John W. Shumaker, President
Dr. Carol Z. Garrison, Provost
Mr. Thomas H. Lyons, University Counsel
Dr. Denise Gifford, Vice President for Student Affairs
Mr. Daniel Hall, Vice President for University Relations
Dr. Joseph Beyel, Vice President for Alumni & Development
Mr. Larry Owsley, Vice President for Finance & Administration
Dr. Nancy Martin, Vice President for Research
Dr. Ron Moore, Vice President for Information Technology
Mr. Ralph Fitzpatrick, Assistant to the President for Minority
Dr. Ron Atlas, Dean, Graduate School
Dr. Gene Gilchrist, Assistant to the President
Mr. Mike Curtin, Director of Planning and Budget
Mr. David Howarth, Associate University Provost
Ms. Carolyn Cochran, Assistant to the Provost
Dr. Dale Billingsley, Professor of English
Ms. Rae Goldsmith, Associate Vice President for     Communications & Marketing
Mr. John Drees, Assistant Director, News and Public     Information
Ms. Debbie Dougherty, Board Liaison
Ms. Trisha Wolf, Board Liaison
Mrs. Kathleen M. Smith, Assistant Secretary, Board of Trustees

I. Call to Order

Having determined a quorum present, Chair Cauble called the meeting to order at 4:10 p.m.

  • Minutes of the Personnel Committee, March 26, 2001
  • Minutes of the Personnel Committee, April 23, 2001

Ms. Shuter made a motion to approve the minutes, seconded by Ms. Worland, ant the motion passed unanimously.

II. Executive Session

Chair Cauble asked for a motion to go into Executive Session to discuss personnel matters. Ms Shuter made the motion, which Ms. Worland seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

III. Open Meeting Reconvenes

Chair Cauble reconvened the Open Session of the Personnel Committee at 4:20 p.m. She reported that the committee discussed the monthly personnel actions. Ms. Worland made a motion, which Ms. Shuter seconded, to approve the

President's recommendation regarding the monthly personnel actions
(copy attached).

The motion passed unanimously.

IV. Action to approve revisions to Graduate School Bylaws

Provost Garrison asked Dr. Ron Atlas, Dean of Graduate School, to present this proposal. Dean Atlas indicated that the Southern Association of Colleges & Schools (SACS) requires that graduate courses be taught by graduate Faculty with the appropriate terminal degree and that these faculty be periodically reviewed. Currently, when one becomes a member of the Graduate Faculty it is a lifetime appointment with no review. Dean Atlas reported that the revised bylaws create a two-tired Graduate Faculty so junior faculty are eligible to begin mentoring students and teaching graduate courses. The revised bylaws will also incorporate the existing REDBOOK requirement for Periodic Career Review as a periodic review of Graduate Faculty Status. Dr. Garrison noted that these revisions will strengthen the institution. Mr. Porter made a motion, which Mr. Helman seconded, to approve the

Presidents recommendation to approve the Revised Bylaws of the Graduate School (copy attached).

V. Action item to approve changes to the REDBOOK

Provost Garrison introduced Dale Billingsley to report on REDBOOK changes. Dr. Billingsly reported that at the Board's request, a committee comprised of three deans as well as past and present faculty chairs has reviewed chapters 3 and 4 of the REDBOOK. Dissatisfied deans and faculty were included in the review process. The revised document was taken to faculty senate and adopted with only one exception. Dr. Billingsley asked the committee to postpone the recommendation until the June meeting to assure the revisions are moving in the right direction. There are several other issues that need to be assessed. Dr. Garrison noted that the revision process is going smoothly thanks to Dr. Billingsley and the past and present faculty leadership.

VI. Other Business

There was no other business.

VII. Adjournment

Mr. Porter made the motion that Ms. Shuter seconded, which passed unanimously, to adjourn the meeting at 4:30 p.m.

Document Actions
Personal tools