You are here: Home Trustees Minutes committee executive 2001 Executive Committee Minutes -- Jan. 22, 2001 -- Board of Trustees -- University of Louisville

Executive Committee Minutes -- Jan. 22, 2001 -- Board of Trustees -- University of Louisville

by Bendl,Kurt last modified Nov 08, 2009 04:14 PM

Minutes of the Executive Committee
Of the University of Louisville Board of Trustees

The Executive Committee of the University of Louisville Board of Trustees met on Monday, January 22, 2001 at 4:45 p.m. in the Alumni Board Room of the University Club with the members present and absent as follows:

Present: Mr. T. W. Samuels, Jr., Chair, Presiding
Mr. Ulysses L. Bridgeman, Jr.
Ms. Linda Wallbaum Cauble
Mrs. Ann Ford Cobb
Mr. Kevin D. Cogan
Dr. Richard C. Feldhoff
Mr. Nathaniel E. Green
Mr. Grant M. Helman
Mr. Milton M. Livingston
Ms. Jessica S. Loving
Mr. William P. Mulloy, Sr.
Mr. Darryl T. Owens
Mr. J. Chester Porter
Ms. Angela M. Richie
Mrs. Joyce Hagen Schifano,
Ms. Melissa Long Shuter
Mrs. Elizabeth H. Worland
Mrs. Mary A. Yarmuth
Absent: Mrs. Marie K. Abrams
Ms. Sandra Metts Snowden
From the University:
Dr. John W. Shumaker, President
Dr. Carol Z. Garrison, Provost
Mr. Joseph S. Beyel, Vice President for Development and     Alumni
Dr. Denise D. Gifford, Vice President for Student Affairs
Mr. Daniel Hall, Vice President for University Relations
Dr. Joel A. Kaplan, Vice President for Health Affairs
Dr. Nancy C. Martin, Vice President for Research
Mr. Mitchell Payne, Associate Vice President for Administration
Mr. David Howarth, Associate University Provost
Mr. Ronald L. Moore, Vice President for Information &     Technology
Mr. Larry L. Owsley, Vice President for Finance &     Administration
Mr. David F. Barker, Director of Internal Audit
Mr. Michael J. Curtin, Director, Planning and Budget
Mr. Thomas H. Lyons, University Counsel
Mr. Ralph Fitzpatrick, Special Assistant for Minority Affairs
Mrs. Terri Rutledge, Associate Vice President for Finance &     Administration
Dr. Gary Gregg, Chair, McConnell Center
Ms. Trisha Wolf, Board Liaison, President's Office
Ms. Debbie Dougherty, Board Liaison, President's Office
Ms. Rae Goldsmith, Associate V. P. for University Relations
Mr. John Drees, Director of Public Information
Mrs. Kathleen M. Smith, Assistant Secretary, Board of Trustees

I. Call to Order

Having determined a quorum present, Mr. Samuels called the meeting to order at 4:45 p.m.

II. Committee Reports

Committee Chairs Livingston, Schifano, and Cauble summarized the discussions and actions from their committee meetings earlier in the afternoon. The respective committee minutes detail additional information from the meetings.

III. President's Report

  • Introduction of Bill Stone, Chairman and CEO, Kentuckiana Minority Supplier Development Council (KMSDC)

    Dr. Shumaker welcomed Mr. Stone, and recognized Mitchell Payne for his work with the KMSDC as a member of its Board of Directors. Mr. Stone appreciated the successful partnership between the KMSDC and the University of Louisville. The Council awarded, at its last annual dinner, the Kentuckiana Purchaser of the Year Award to the University of Louisville and praised UofL for its use of minority-owned vendors. The KMSDC is part of a network of thirty-nine councils throughout the nation. In Louisville, it is affiliated with Greater Louisville, Inc. Trustee Green complimented Mr. Owsley and Mr. Payne for their commitment to equal opportunity in the procurement process. Mr. Owsley introduced Ms. Sharon Wright, Director of Purchasing, a 34-year veteran and Mitchell Payne, a 24 year-employee. Their leadership made the Purchaser of the Year Award possible.

  • Dr. Gary Gregg

    President Shumaker introduced Dr. Gregg, Director of the McConnell Center (and the McConnell Endowed Chair). Dr. Gregg presented the story of the McConnell Center and its new marketing program. His purpose is to get the word out about the Center's success and to shape the message nationally. The Center provides significant opportunity for undergraduate students to interact substantially with Senator McConnell, to bring world leaders to campus and to engage in a dialogue with them while here. Dr. Gregg expressed his commitment to making the McConnell program a model of excellence at the University and throughout the nation. He highlighted a monograph written by Senator Robert Byrd and published by the McConnell Center, with a foreword from Senator McConnell, Congress. Senator Byrd, deeply moved by his visit to the McConnell Center, wanted to do something lasting for the University and this outstanding program. Dr. Gregg noted that the array of speakers brought to the University is rigorously bipartisan.

  • Presidential Inauguration (U.S.)

    President Shumaker informed the Board that the University Chorale would be singing at the Presidential Inauguration. The group will sing for 30 minutes prior to the installation ceremony of President Bush.

  • Grizzle Company

    Through the services of Charlie Grizzle, the University has achieved its highest level of success in earmarked federal funding. Congressional appropriations have directed more than $17 million toward UofL. Included in this number is $7 million, which should be repeated in the next budget cycle, to expand Ekstrom Library. Dr. Shumaker asked Kathleen Smith to send to the Board a detailed listing of the projects funded through federal appropriation.

  • Affirmative Action Goals

    President Shumaker reported that the CPE has asked the state institutions to refrain from reporting publicly their affirmative action data until after the next CPE meeting. The President stated that for the first time in the University's history it has met all eight of its goals.

IV. Executive Session

There was no Executive Session.


The meeting adjourned at 5:15 p.m.

Document Actions
Personal tools