You are here: Home Trustees Minutes committee asa 2003 ASA Committee Minutes -- July 10, 2003 -- Board of Trustees -- University of Louisville

ASA Committee Minutes -- July 10, 2003 -- Board of Trustees -- University of Louisville

by Bendl,Kurt last modified Nov 08, 2009 03:58 PM


The Academic and Student Affairs Committee of the University of Louisville Board of Trustees met at 1:30 p.m. on Thursday, July 10, 2003 in the Jefferson Room of Grawemeyer Hall with members present and absent as follows

Present: Mr. Milton M. Livingston, Chair
Mr. Michael Sticklen, Vice Chair
Ms. Virginia C. Brown
Ms. Donna Tinsley Denny
Prof. David Ensign
Ms. Sandra Metts Snowden
Absent: Ms. Joyce Hagen
Trustees Present: Ms. Marie K. Abrams
Ms. Linda Wallbaum Cauble
Mr. Kevin D. Cogan
Mr. Nathaniel E. Green
Ms. Jessica S. Loving
Ms. Elizabeth H. Worland
From the University: Dr. James Ramsey, President
Ms. Angela D. Koshewa, University Counsel
Dr. Joel A. Kaplan, Executive Vice President and Chancellor for HSC
Dr. Nancy Martin, Senior Vice President for Research
Mr. Larry L. Owsley, Vice President for Business Affairs
Dr. Denise Gifford, Vice President for Student Affairs
Dr. David Howarth, Associate Provost
Ms. Terri Rutledge, Asst. Vice President for Business Affairs
Ms. Denise Fitzpatrick, Director of Communications
Ms. Carolyn Cochran, Assistant to the Provost
Ms. Rae Goldsmith, Associate Vice President for University Advancement
Ms. Debbie Dougherty, Board Liaison, President’s Office
Ms. Kathleen M. Smith, Assistant Secretary, Board of Trustees

I. Call to Order

Having determined a quorum present, Chair Livingston called the meeting to order at 1:30 p.m.

Approval of Minutes, March 13, 2003

Prof. Ensign made a motion, which Ms. Brown seconded, to approve the minutes of March 13, 2003. The motion passed unanimously.

II. Information Item: Update on Community Park

Vice President Gifford distributed materials related to updating Greek Housing at the University of Louisville, including a timeline (copy attached). She referenced the University’s plan to increase significantly the percentage of students who live on-campus. The University’s five-year housing vision expands residential spaces on the west side of campus, while efficiently utilizing available land for construction. Recognizing the charm and attachment to the older Greek facilities, she noted the University encouraged the Greek organizations to plan for the future. She noted flexibility was a key factor in working together with student organizations to make this plan a reality. She projected that organizations buying into this new Greek community will enjoy increased visibility and a presence on campus. Chair Livingston thanked Vice President Gifford for an excellent status report.

III. President’s Report

President Ramsey introduced Dr. Robert Felner, Dean of the College of Education and Human Development. Dr. Ramsey noted the Personnel Committee earlier today, approved naming of the honors center after Mr. and Mrs. Etscorn. President Ramsey had invited Mr. Mac Barr, senior member of the Board of Overseers and Chair of the Overseers Scholarship Committee to the meeting today, but Mr. Barr was detained by a previous engagement. Mr. Barr was instrumental in recruiting the Etscorn gift. Since Mr. Barr was unable to attend the meeting today, President Ramsey suggested the Board members express their appreciation to him directly.

IV. Adjournment

Ms. Snowden made a motion, which Prof. Ensign seconded, to adjourn the meeting at 1:45 p.m. The motion passed unanimously.


Document Actions
Personal tools