You are here: Home Trustees Minutes committee asa 2002 ASA Committee Minutes -- May 20, 2002 -- Board of Trustees -- University of Louisville

ASA Committee Minutes -- May 20, 2002 -- Board of Trustees -- University of Louisville

by Bendl,Kurt last modified Nov 08, 2009 03:58 PM


The Academic & Student Affairs Committee met on Monday, May 20, 2002, at 3:30 p.m. in the Ballroom of the University Club with members present and absent as follows:

Present: Mr. Mike Livingston, Chair
Mr. Chris Marlin, Vice Chair
Dr. Richard C. Feldhoff
Ms. Annette Schnatter
Ms. Melissa Long Shuter
Ms. Elizabeth Worland
Absent: Ms. Marie Abrams
Mr. William Mulloy, Sr.
Trustees Present: Mr. Ulysses L. Bridgeman, Jr.
Ms. Linda Wallbaum Cauble
Mr. Owsley B. Frazier
Mr. Nathaniel Green
Mr. Grant M. Helman
Mr. J. Chester Porter
Ms. Joyce Hagen Schifano
Ms. Sandy Metts Snowden
From the University:
Dr. John W. Shumaker, President
Dr. Carol Z. Garrison, Provost
Ms. Angela Koshewa, University Counsel
Dr. Nancy Martin, Vice President for Research
Dr. Denise D. Gifford, Vice President for Student Affairs
Mr. Larry L. Owsley, Vice President for Finance &    Administration
Dr. Shirley Willihnganz, Professor, College of Arts & Sciences
Mr. Dan Hall, Vice President for University Relations
Dr. James Brennan, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences
Mr. Joe Beyel, Vice President for Development & Alumni
Dr. Joel Kaplan, Vice President for Health Affairs & Dean,    School of Medicine
Dr. Ron Moore, Vice President for Information Technology
Dr. Gene Gilchrist, Vice President for New Ventures
Dr. Robert Taylor, Dean, College of Business & Public    Administration
Dr. Herbert Koerselman, Dean, School of Music
Mr. Mike Curtin, Director, Office of Planning & Budget
Ms. Susan Ingram, Assistant Director, Office of Planning &    Budget
Ms. Rae Goldsmith, Associate VP for Communications &    Marketing
Dr. Bronwyn Williams, Professor, College of Arts & Sciences
Mr. John Drees, Assistant Director, News and Public    Information
Dr. Susan Matarese, Professor, College of Arts & Sciences
Dr. Seow-Chin Ong, Professor, School of Music
Ms. Kathleen M. Smith, Assistant Secretary
Ms. Trisha Wolf, Board Liaison
Ms. Debbie Dougherty, Board Liaison

I. Call to Order

Having determined a quorum present, Chair Livingston called the meeting to order at 3:30 p.m.

Approval of Minutes

Dr. Feldhoff made a motion, which Ms. Shuter seconded, to approve the minutes of March 11, 2002. The motion passed.

Introduction of Chris Marlin

Chair Livingston welcomed Chris Marlin, President of the Student Government Association and new trustee. Board Chair Loving has appointed Mr. Marlin to serve as vice chair of the Academic & Student Affairs Committee.

II. Action Item: Approval of Institute for Entrepreneurial Research

Provost Garrison introduced Robert Taylor, Dean of the College of Business and Public Administration and Professor James Fiet, Brown Forman Professor of Entrepreneurship (endowed chair), noting that Dr. Fiet is the school's leading faculty member in entrepreneurship research.

Dr. Fiet briefed the Board on his current projects and his goals for the Institute for Entrepreneurial Research. He stated the purpose of the Institute will be to foster research that develops aspiring entrepreneurs. The goal of the Institute is to establish itself as an international center of excellence in entrepreneurial research. Currently 15 faculty members affiliated with these activities engage in a coordinated, year round submission of papers to conferences and journals, invite scholars from other institutions to visit the University, serve as affiliate scholars, and provide sponsorship for major research conferences. He will investigate the start up of a journal that would add to the University's leadership position in entrepreneurship education. He indicated a direct benefit to students is the transfer of systematic research findings directly into the curriculum at both the undergraduate and graduate levels.

Dr. Feldhoff made a motion, which Ms. Worland seconded, to approve the

President's recommendation that the Board of Trustees approve the creation of the Institute for Entrepreneurial Research with a Director assigned by and reporting to the Chair, Department of Marketing, College of Business and Public Administration.

The motion passed.

III. Information Item: Presentation by NEH Fellowship Award Recipients

In her introduction of the 2002 National Endowment for the Humanities Summer Grant (NEH) fellowship award recipients, Provost Garrison noted that NEH funds are scarce. Vice President Martin concurred that this is a very prestigious and extremely difficult award to obtain, noting that UofL faculty competed successfully for these awards. Out of 101 fellowships awarded in 31states, UofL received 2 and Western Kentucky University received 1. UofL also received one NEH research grant at a similar competitive level. Dr. Herbert Koerselman, Dean, School of Music, introduced Dr. Seow-Chin Ong. Dr. Ong shared the fellowship research he is doing on manuscripts and source books of Beethoven.

Dr. James Brennan, Dean, College of Arts & Sciences, introduced Professor Susan Matarese. Dr. Matarese, who has received numerous undergraduate honors, shared her plans to research the work of Brother Isaac Newton Youngs.

Dr. James Brennan introduced Professor Bronwyn Williams. Dr. Williams will publish a book entitled, "Tuned in Television and the Teaching of Writing," in Spring 2002 about college students and how they respond to first year writing courses. He plans to investigate literature and scholarship about middle school students and how popular culture influences their writing.

President Shumaker acknowledged the difficult nature in obtaining NEH grants and expressed his praise for these accomplishments. The Board recognized the faculty recipients with a round of applause.

IV. Other Business

Provost Garrison announced that Dr. Dale Billingsley will serve as acting associate provost, effective June 6, 2002. Dr. John Welsh, current associate provost, will become acting dean of the College of Education and Human Development. Dr. Garrison noted that Dr. Billingsley had served as associate provost under Provost Wallace Mann. With this transition, the Office of the Provost will actually reduce its office staff by one.

V. Adjournment

There being no further business to discuss, Dr. Feldhoff made a motion, which Ms. Worland seconded, to adjourn the meeting at 4:00 p.m.

Document Actions
Personal tools