You are here: Home Trustees Minutes 2004 Minutes -- May 13, 2004 -- Board of Trustess -- University of Louisville

Minutes -- May 13, 2004 -- Board of Trustess -- University of Louisville

by Bendl,Kurt last modified Nov 08, 2009 03:34 PM


In Open Session

May 13 , 2004

The members of the University of Louisville Board of Trustees met on Thursday, May 13, 2004, in the Jefferson Room of Grawemeyer Hall on Belknap Campus, with members present and absent as follows:



Mr. Ulysses L. Bridgeman, Jr., Chairman
Ms. Marie Abrams
Judge Angela McCormick Bisig
Ms. Virginia C. Brown
Ms. Linda Wallbaum Cauble
Mr. Kevin D. Cogan
Mr. Nathaniel Green
Ms. Joyce Hagen
Mr. Grant Helman
Mr. Milton Livingston
Ms. Jessica Loving
Mr. William Mulloy, Sr.
Mr. J. Chester Porter
Ms. Sandra Metts Snowden
Ms. Elizabeth Worland


Mr. Tommie Burns
Mrs. Donna Tinsley Denny
Prof. David Ensign
Mr. Owsley Brown Frazier
Mr. Ryan McKinley

From the University:

Dr. James R. Ramsey, President
Dr. Shirley Willihnganz, Executive Vice President and Provost
Dr. Joel A. Kaplan, Executive Vice President Chancellor for HSC
Ms. Angela D. Koshewa, University Counsel
Mr. Larry Owsley, Vice President for Business Affairs
Mr. Joseph S. Beyel, Vice President for University Advancement
Dr. Nancy C. Martin, Vice President for Research
Mr. Ronald L. Moore, Vice President for Information & Technology
Dr. David Howarth, Associate University Provost
Mr. Michael J. Curtin, Vice President for Finance
Ms. Susan Ingram, Director of Budget
Ms. Rae Goldsmith, Associate V. P. for University Relations
Mr. John Drees, Director of Public Information
Ms. Carolyn Cochran, Assistant to the Provost
Ms. Debbie Dougherty, Board Liaison, President’s Office

I. Call to Order

Having determined a quorum present, Chair Bridgeman called the meeting to order at 3:05 p.m.

II. Consent Agenda

Approval of Minutes

Board of Trustees, April 8, 2004

Special Executive Committee, April 21, 2004

Special Executive Committee, April 28, 2004

From the Finance Committee

Approval of CBPA Fees, 2004-05

Approval of HSC Special Program Fees, 2004-05

From the Personnel Committee

Approval of Speed Engineering Dean

Chairman Bridgeman read the consent agenda. Hearing no objection, Ms. Abrams made the motion, which Ms. Brown seconded, to approve the consent agenda. The motion passed unanimously.

III. Report of the President

President Ramsey informed the Board that Ms. Denny’s father passed away. He shared information concerning expressions of sympathy and visitation.

Dr. Ramsey reported the Supreme Court declined to hear the Foundation’s appeal of the lower court decision. Dr. Ramsey will update the Board as the legal case progresses.

President Ramsey commended Provost Willihnganz for her successful efforts with the School of Engineering Dean search. The process was very thorough and produced four very strong candidates. The community leaders, faculty, staff and students unanimously recommended Dr. Mickey Wilhelm for the position. Dr. Wilhelm thanked the UofL community for this opportunity. He noted that Speed School is 79 years old and has only had six deans.

IV. Adjournment

Mr. Livingston made a motion, which Ms. Worland seconded, to adjourn the meeting at 3:18 p.m. The motion passed unanimously.


Document Actions
Personal tools