Office of the President
Grawemeyer Hall
University of Louisville
Louisville KY 40292
Phone: (502) 852-5417
Fax: (502) 852-7226

You are here: Home University Boards Research Foundation minutes U of L Research Foundation Inc. Board of Directors Meeting

U of L Research Foundation Inc. Board of Directors Meeting

by Bendl,Kurt last modified Jan 21, 2010 04:58 AM

June 25, 2001, In Open Session

The University of Louisville Research Foundation Inc. Board of Directors met on Monday, June 25, 2001, in the Jefferson Room of Grawemeyer Hall with members present and absent as follows:

Mr. Darryl Owens, Chair, Presiding
Mr. T. W. Samuels, Jr.
Mrs. Linda Wallbaum Cauble
Mrs. Melissa Shuter
Mr. Darryl Owens
Mr. J. Chester Porter
Mrs. Beth Worland
Dr. Rick Feldhoff
Mr. William Mulloy
Mrs. Ann Ford Cobb
Mr. Nathaniel Green
Mr. Ulysses L. Bridgeman, Jr.
Mrs. Joyce Hagan Schifano
Mrs. Sandra Metts Snowden
Mrs. Mary Yarmuth
Mr. Carlton Brown
Mr. Kevin Cogan

Trustees Absent:
Mr. Mike Livingston
M. Jessica Loving
Mrs. Marie Abrams

From the University:
Dr. John W. Shumaker, President
Dr. David Howarth, Office of the Provost
Mr. Mike Curtin, Director, Office of Planning and Budget
Ms. Susan Ingram, Asst. Director, Office of Planning and Budget
Dr. Russell Prough, Professor and Chair, Biochemistry
Ms. Rae Goldsmith, Associate VP, Communications & Marketing
Mrs. Carolyn Cochran, Office of the Provost
Mr. John Drees, News and Public Information
Dr. Ron Moore, Vice President for Information Technololgy
Dr. Denise Gifford, Vice President for Student Affairs
Dr. Eugene Gilchrist, Special Assistant to the President
Ms. Trisha Wolf, Board Liaison
Mrs. Debbie Dougherty, Board Liaison
Dr. Mark Rothstein, School of Medicine

I. Call to Order

Having determined a quorum present, Chair Owens called the meeting to order at 4:08 pm.

II. Consent Agenda

Minutes of the meeting, 2/26/01

Chair Owens called the consent agenda item of the approval of the minutes from February 26, 2001 meeting. Hearing no objections, Mrs. Cobb made a motion, and Mr. Cogan seconded the motion to approve the minutes. The Board unanimously passed the motion.

III. Information Item: Report of Nominating Committee Election of Officers

Mr. Porter provided the recommendations of the Nominating Committee:

  • Chair: Kevin Cogan
  • Vice Chair: William Mulloy, Sr.
  • Treasurer: Sandra Metts Snowden
  • Secretary: Mary Yarmuth

Mrs. Cauble made a motion, which Mr. Bridgeman seconded, to approve the appointment of the above recommendations. The motion passed unanimously.

IV. Information Item: Operating Agreement for Minerva Enterprises, LLC

Dr. Shumaker introduced Mr. Mark Ament, whose work is underway to draft the operating agreement for Minerva Enterprises, LLC. The agreement was provided for information purposes to the Board (copy attached). Mr. Ament discussed the formation, purposes and terms of the agreement. Concluding his discussion, the Board had no further questions concerning the agreement.

V. Action Item: Approval of Personnel Appointment

Dr. Shumaker reported that, with the Board’s approval, Dr. Gilchrist would be assisting in the evaluation of the feasibility of new business initiatives submitted to the university. Mrs. Cobb made a motion, which Mr. Green seconded to approve:

The President’s recommendation that Dr. Gene Gilchrist be appointed as Vice President in the UofL Research Foundation; this appointment would be additional to Dr. Gilchrist’s administrator appointment.

The motion passed.

VI. Adjournment

There being no further business to discuss, Mr. Green made a motion, which Mrs. Cobb seconded, to adjourn the meeting at 4:08 p.m. The motion passed.

Document Actions
Personal tools