December 21, 2000 BOT Special Minutes

Minutes of Special Meeting of the
Board of Trustees

The University of Louisville Board of Trustees met in conjunction with the Board of Directors of the UofL Athletic Association on Thursday, December 21, 2000 at 5:01 p.m. in the Mary Bingham Room of the University Club with the members present and absent as follows:

Present: Mr. Ulysses L. Bridgeman, Jr., Treasurer, Presiding
Mrs. Marie K. Abrams
Ms. Linda Wallbaum Cauble
Mrs. Ann Ford Cobb
Mr. Kevin D. Cogan
Dr. Richard C. Feldhoff
Mr. Nathaniel E. Green
Mr. Grant M. Helman
Mr. Milton M. Livingston
Mr. Darryl T. Owens
Ms. Melissa Long Shuter
Ms. Sandra Metts Snowden
Conference Call Mr. William P. Mulloy, Sr.
Mrs. Elizabeth H. Worland
Absent: Ms. Jessica S. Loving
Mr. J. Chester Porter
Ms. Angela M. Richie
Mrs. Joyce Hagen Schifano
Mrs. Mary A. Yarmuth
From the University:
Dr. John W. Shumaker, President
Mr. Larry L. Owsley, Vice President for Finance & Administration
Mr. Thomas H. Lyons, University Counsel
Ms. Trisha Wolf, Board Liaison Officer
Mrs. Kathleen M. Smith, Assistant Secretary

I. Call to Order

President Shumaker, as Chairman of the UofL Athletic Association, called the meeting to order at 5:01 p.m.

II. Executive Session

Mrs. Abrams made a motion, seconded by Ms. Shuter, that the group adjourn the Open Session and convene the Executive Session. The motion passed unanimously.

III. Open Meeting Reconvenes

The Open Session reconvened at 5:55 p.m. Mr. Bridgeman, presiding for the Board of Trustees, reported that the two boards discussed a student personnel matter. No action was taken.

(The UofL Athletic Association adjourned at 5:55 p.m.)

IV. Grawemeyer Awards

Mr. Bridgeman asked for a motion to approve the nominees for the five Grawemeyer Awards. The University distributed brief statements about each with the agenda for this meeting. Ms. Cauble made a motion, Mrs. Cobb seconded, to approve the list of nominees for the 2001 Grawemeyer Awards as follows:

Music Composition: Pierre Boulez
Psychology: Michael Posner, Marcus Raichle, and Steven Petersen
Education: William G. Bowen and Derek Bok
Ideas Improving World Order: Janine Wedel
Religion: James L. Kugel

The motion passed unanimously.

V. Adjournment

The meeting of the Board of Trustees adjourned at 6:01 p.m.

Office of the President

Grawemeyer Hall

University of Louisville

Louisville, Kentucky 40292


tel (502) 852-5417

fax (502) 852-7226