Pediatric Wellness Challenge!

March 18 - April 29 - Residents, fellows, faculty, and staff are competing to earn wellness points by completing a variety of activities to promote wellness. The winning team will celebrate with a Steel City Pops popsicle party. For more details, click here.

Norton Healthcare Named "Most Wired"

The 19th Annual Health Care's Most Wired® survey, published by the American Hospital Association, recognized Norton Healthcare for its deployment of smart phones, telehealth and remote monitoring to help patients more easily access care and their medical records. More information here.

 Pediatricians Urging Safety & Health (PUSH) Celebrates a Year of Accomplishments

Our resident-led advocacy group, PUSH, recently celebrated a year of exciting community events and opportunities to advocate for the children of our area. Highlights included:

  • Kindergarten Readyfest - July 2016 [led by Alli Black, MD]
  • Smoketown After School Bash - September 2016 [led by Kevin Murray, MD]
  • Smoketown Get Down for Democracy - September 2016 [led by Nicole Bichir, MD]
  • Attendance at multiple Jefferson County Public School Board meetings
  • Sex education courses taught at six area high schools [led by Jake Kaslow, MD, and Nicole Bichir, MD]
  • Yearlong involvement with local food insecurity organizations [led by Jenna Thurman, MD]
  • Home of the Innocents Halloween Barbeque - October 2016 [led by Brandon McHenry, DO]
  • AAP National Conference & Exhibition - October 2016 [presentations by Alli Black, MD, Alex Healy, MD, and Michael Bricken, MD]
  • Americana Community Center Rally - November 2016
  • Bake Sale! - November 2016
  • Canned food drive - December 2016 [led by Kevin Murray, MD]
  • CATCH grant for LGBTQ communication tools [Stephanie Kwon, DO, and Carly Schuetz, MD]
  • CATCH grant for child passenger safety [Alli Black, MD, and Cara Pope, MD - to be carried on by Ashley Zerr, MD, and Zheyi Teoh, MD]
  • CATCH grant for Primary Care and Mentorship in Juvenile Justice [Shannon Lyon, DO, and Kathryn Thorne, MD]
  • Children's Day at the Capital [February 2017]
  • Book drive - collected 1,733 books for UofL clinics [led by Kevin Murray, MD]
  • SOAR Park Duvalle Event [led by Ashley Zerr, MD, and Zheyi Teoh, MD]
  • Smoketown Family Wellness Center Groundbreaking Ceremony - March 2017 [led by Nicole Bichir, MD]
  • Lexi Memorial 5K for Child Abuse Awareness - April 2017
  • AAP Legislative Conference - April 2017 [representative:  Liz Lehto, DO]
  • Smoketown Family Wellness Center Community Garden - May 2017 [led by Kevin Murray, MD]

 Whew! A huge thanks to the 2016-2017 Executive Committee:

  • Alli Black, MD - President
  • Erin Herstine, MD - Secretary
  • Jake Kaslow, MD - Community Liaison
  • Cara Pope, MD - Community Liaison
  • Stephanie Kwon, DO - Legislative Representative
  • Carly Schuetz, MD - Legislative Representative



Kim Boland, MD, Chosen for Executive Leadership Academy

Dr. Boland, our outgoing program director, was selected for the 2017-2018 Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) Program. The program provides leadership training for women faculty in medicine, dentistry, and public health. More info here.


21 Reasons to Travel to Louisville, KY, This Fall

We're excited for fall (cooler temperatures, recruitment, and fun Louisville activities) and so is the Huffington Post! Find out their twenty-one reasons to visit Louisville this fall.


Louisville Named "Best Destination Experience" by World Food Travel Association

Louisville edged out Helsinki, Finland, and Nova Scotia, Canada, to take this year's top spot. Full story available here.


5 Days in Ghana

Courier-Journal reporters spent nearly a week in Tamale, Ghana, with our residents and faculty as they began a month-long International Pediatrics rotation. See what they learned here.


Thank you, USA Today Readers!

USA Today and 10Best readers voted Louisville #2 on their list of Best Local Food scenes. Check out the rest of the list, and some Louisville favorites, here.


Department Honored with Paul Weber Award

The Department of Pediatrics has been selected to receive the University of Louisville 2013 Paul Weber Award for Departmental Excellence in Teaching in recognition of its innovative teaching methods and commitment to educational excellence. This teaching award was established in 2005 in memory of Paul Weber, a distinguished UofL teacher, scholar and mentor, and recognizes departments that demonstrate excellence in teaching. Read full story.

Louisville Named "Best of World" Locations

National Geographic Traveler recently named our city as a "Best of World" travel destination. Bourbon culture tops the list of highlights, but here are a few more from the Courier Journal.


Lonely Planet Names Louisville #1 Travel Destination

Between horse racing, bourbon culture, and NuLu, Lonely Planet's team of travel experts agreed that Louisville is a great vacation spot! Check out more about Louisville and which cities rounded out the Top 10.