Anatomic Pathology

Anatomic Pathology

Director: Mostafa Fraig, M.D.

The Division of Anatomic Pathology comprises the following specialty sections: Autopsy Pathology, Breast Pathology, Cytopathology, Fine Needle Aspirate, Hematopathology, Informatics, Neuropathology, Ob/Gyn Pathology, Perinatal Pathology, Surgical Pathology, and Ultrastructural/Renal Pathology. The Division serves as a regional resource for anatomic pathology services required for patient care and for educational programs in Anatomic Pathology. The Division sponsors an annual Anatomic Pathology Symposium every spring. Advanced fellowship training is currently available in Cytology, which is accredited by the ACGME. In addition, the faculty are collectively engaged in a wide variety of research programs from basic science to the development of new techniques in anatomic pathology. These activities complement our clinical services and training programs throughout our Department.

Specialty Sections:

Autopsy Pathology

Director: Mostafa Fraig, MD

Breast Pathology

Director: Mary Ann Sanders, MD, PhD.


Director: Mostafa Fraig, MD

Genitourinary Pathology

Director: Houda Alatassi, MD


Director: Samer Z. Al-Quran, MD

Lung Pathology

Director: Mostafa Fraig, MD


Director: Eyas M. Hattab, MD

Perinatal Pathology

Director: Robert F. Debski, MD

Surgical Pathology

Director: Houda Alatassi, MD

Special Procedures Laboratory

Executive Medical Director: Mostafa Fraig, MD