'Match Madness' once again a success for UofL Internal Medicine residency programs

Internal Medicine, Combined Med-Peds residency groups both fill their available spots with another set of strong incoming classes
'Match Madness' once again a success for UofL Internal Medicine residency programs

UofL fourth-year medical students celebrate Match Day 2018, when they found out where they will continue the residency portion of their medical education.


Who said the madness of March was confined to the basketball court?

March 16 was Match Day for University of Louisville medical students, and others nationwide, as they opened their envelopes from the National Residency Match Program to find where they had been matched for their future training as residents.

"I would like to welcome an excellent group of young doctors to the internal medicine residency program," Jennifer Koch, M.D., FACP, Director of the UofL Internal Medicine Residency Program said. "We are honored to train this accomplished and diverse class of interns."

Conducted annually by the NRMP, The Match uses a computerized algorithm designed to the best results by aligning the preferences of applicants with the preferences of residency programs. The results are used to fill thousands of training positions available in the United States.

The UofL Internal Medicine Residency Program successfully filled all of its 24 categorical and 12 preliminary positions.

In addition the Combined Internal Medicine-Pediatrics Residency Program, under the direction of Laura Workman, M.D., added five new members.

Our incoming Class of 2021 includes:

Categorical Residents

  • Agastaya Nelur - Seth G.S. Medical College
  • Thomas Bierman - University of Louisville
  • James Bradley - University of Louisville
  • Wenjing Cai - Indiana University
  • Aaditya Chandramouli - Indiana University
  • Rishi Charate - University of Missouri-Kansas City
  • Sirmad Chaudhary - East Tennessee State University
  • Scott Diamond - Nova Southeastern College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Mohamed Elmasry - Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Khusboo Gala - Grant Government Medical College
  • Katherine George - Nova Southeastern College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Margaux Hetzman - Central Michigan University
  • Parth Jadav - University of Louisville
  • Yiran Jiang - Indiana University
  • Bokhodir Mamedov - University of Louisville
  • Leondrus McIver - Morehouse School of Medicine
  • Kyle Mills - University of Pikeville
  • Cody Moore - Indiana University
  • Chris Moser - Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Sahil Patel - Drexel University
  • Gayatri Suresh Kumar - University of Arkansas
  • Ashley Twyman - Louisiana State University Shreveport
  • Pradheep Vermula - The Ohio State University
  • James Vernace - Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine


Preliminary Residents

  • Ali Cohen - University of Iowa
  • Michael Del Busto - University of Cincinnati
  • Bryan Edwards - Indiana University
  • Collin Gamble - University of Louisville
  • Brian Gordon - University of Louisville
  • Dagan Kaht - University of Louisville
  • Aleksander Krazinski - Medical College of South Carolina
  • Samantha Sears - University of Louisville
  • Laura Taylor - George Washington University
  • Graham Trent - University of Maryland
  • Razvan Turcu - University of Louisville
  • Mengmeng Zheng - Indiana University


Combined Med-Peds Residents

  • Ariel Carpenter - University of Missouri
  • Caitlin McKenzie - Loyola University Chicago
  • Adam Neff - University of Louisville
  • Jonathan Phillips - Kansas City University
  • Kasey Reed - University of Louisville