Fellows

Fellows

Meet the members of the Pulmonary/Critical Care and Sleep Medicine Fellowship programs of the University of Louisville Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care & Sleep Disorders Medicine. For more information about our programs, call 502-852-5842.

Third-Year Fellows

 

Emran Abu Atherah, M.D.

Emran Abu Atherah, M.D.

emran.abuatherah@louisville.edu

Research Interests

  • ARDS Risk Factors and Management
  • COPD and PFT
  • Quality Control in ICU

 

Ehab Haj Ali, M.D.

Ehab Haj Ali, M.D.

ehab.hajali@louisville.edu

Research Interests

  • Early Tube Feeding to Prevent PUD in the ICU
  • Sepsis and ALI/ARDS Study
  • Early Surgical Referral in C.diff Patients who Require Intensive Care

 

Muhammad Yasin, M.D.

Muhammad Yasin, M.D.

muhammad.yasin@louisville.edu

Research Interests

  • Asthma Phenotypes in Geriatric Population
  • Novel Bronchoscopic Techniques in Lung Cancer Diagnosis
  • Pulmonary Hypertension

Second-Year Fellows

 

Christopher W. Barber, M.D.

Christopher W. Barber, M.D.

christopher.barber@louisville.edu

Research Interests

  • Lung Transplant
  • Treatment of Cystic Fibrosis Pulmonary Exacerbations
  • ICU Pneumonia

 

Jason C. Mann, D.O.

Jason C. Mann, D.O.

jason.mann@louisville.edu

Research Interests

  • Bedside Use of Ultrasound for Dynamic Changes of Volume Status
  • Airway Management for the Non-Anesthesia Trained Intensivist
  • Cardiopulmonary Physiology in the Setting of Sleep Related Breathing Disorders

 

Jason C. Mann, D.O.

Alex M. Ng, M.D.

alex.ng@louisville.edu

 

Patton W. Thompson, M.D.

Patton W. Thompson, M.D.

patton.thompson@louisville.edu

Research Interests

  • Critical Care Ultrasound
  • Hemodynamics
  • Interventional Pulmonology

First-Year Fellows

 

David M. Chambers, M.D.

David M. Chambers, M.D.

david.chambers@louisville.edu

 

Vinay G. Nidadavolu, M.D.

Vinay G. Nidadavolu, M.D.

vinay.nidadavolu@louisville.edu

 

 

Gregory J. Pfister, M.D.

Gregory J. Pfister, M.D.

gregory.pfister@louisville.edu


Interventional Pulmonology Fellow

 

Abid S. Butt, M.D.

Abid S. Butt, M.D.

abid.butt@louisville.edu


Sleep Fellow

 

Karim El-Kersh, M.D.

Karim A. El-Kersh, M.D.

karim.elkersh@louisville.edu

Research Interests

  • Critical Care Ultrasound
  • Interstitial Lung Disease
  • Enteral Nutrition as Stress Ulcer Prophylaxis in Critically Ill Patients