BMT Stem Cell Processing Facility/Laboratory

The staff of the University of Louisville BMT Stem Cell Processing Facility/Laboratory (BMT-SCPFL) are a dedicated team of highly trained and specialized stem cell scientists and medical technologists.

Their duties include stem cell apheresis collections and processing of cellular therapy products for autologous, allogeneic, cord blood, and matched/mismatched related/unrelated transplants. BMT-SCPFL staff have more than 50 years of combined experience in hematopoietic stem cell processing and they work together to provide support to the BMT Program.

The BMT-SCPFL Staff are passionate about their work and how they help in the care and treatment of our patients.

Vincent LaRussa, Ph.D., is the BMT-SCPFL's Scientific Director and has more than 20 years of experience in the field of stem cell therapy. Dr. LaRussa provides technical expertise and helps develop, guide and support the operation of the BMT-SCPFL.

William Tse, M.D., FACP, serves as the Medical Director of the BMT-SCPFL.

The BMT-SCPFL was established in 1988 and initiated apheresis collections in 1998. The laboratory is designated as an NMDP Apheresis Collection Center and is registered with the FDA and accredited by the Foundation for the Accreditation of Cellular Therapy (FACT) since 1998.

Our full staff includes:

  • Mark Cathey, B.S., CLS (ASCP)
  • Helen Fields, B.S., MT (ASCP)
  • Vincent LaRussa, Ph.D. (Scientific Director)
  • Allison Nett, B.A. (Technical Coordinator)
  • William Tse, M.D., FACP (Medical Director)