History of Emergency Medicine at the University of Louisville

The Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of Louisville, established in 1971, is the second oldest full academic Department of Emergency Medicine in the United States. The Emergency Medicine residency-training program enrolled its first resident on June 1, 1972 and was granted approval for six residents in each year of a two year program. At that time, Dr. Donald M. Thomas, founder and first chair, directed and developed what was known as the Emergency Service of Louisville -- essentially a few dedicated treatment rooms. His contributions in terms of resident education, training and the development of emergency systems were instrumental and laid the groundwork for generations of physicans to come.

In 1991, Dr. Daniel F. Danzl assumed the chair position and continued to move the program forward to its current status of ten resident positions in each year of a three year program that is housed at a state-of the-art facility. His expertise in the specialty, numerous publications and contributions to national emergency medicine organizations provides the impetus for growth and leadership as the department continues to meet the challenges of patient care, education and research.