Photographs - Activities and Achievements

Photographs - Activities and Achievements

   Teambuilding Event - July 29, 2017


Front: Jordan Noe

Middle Row (L-R):  Mark Kravitz, Natalia Bilchuk, Desmond Stewart, Samantha Morrissey, Annie Geller, Jessica Sharpe

Back Row in sunglasses (L-R):  Doug Saforo, Peter Campbell, Evan Tracy

                              Doctoral Hooding - December 15, 2016

Jessica Mezzanotte Sharpe, Ph.D. with (L-R) Dr. Russell Salter, Dr. Beth Boehm, Dr. Neville Pinto, and Dr. Dale Billingsley

Jessica Mezzanotte Sharpe, Ph.D. with her mentor, Dr. Geoffrey Clark and (L-R) Dr. Russell Salter, Dr. Beth Boehm, Dr. Neville Pinto, and Dr. Dale Billingsley

Informal Get Together - July 19, 2016

(L-R) Front Row: Sanet Steyn, Samantha Morrissey, Annie Geller, Dr. Lacey Gunn

Second/Back Row: Heather Clair, Doug Saforo, Dr. Venkat Ramakrishnan, Joe Zakhari, Dr. Binks Wattenberg (former Associate Director of the MD/PhD program), Peter Campbell, George Wei, Dr. Janelle Fassbender Adeniran

National MD/PhD Student Conference, Keystone, CO - July 2016

Doug Saforo and Heather Clair attended the National MD/PhD Student Conference in Keystone, CO from July 15-18, 2016. Doug received a travel award from the conference.

Graduation - May 14, 2016

Huy Le, M.D., Ph.D. and Michael Zhang, M.D, Ph.D. with Toni Ganzel, M.D., Dean, University of Louisville School of Medicine

Michael Zhang, M.D., Ph.D. (Class of 2016) and Justin Kingery, M.D., Ph.D. (Class of 2012)

End of the year Gathering - May 11, 2016



Outstanding Student Award - April 2016

Doug Saforo, mentored by Dr. Leah Siskind and Dr. Levi Beverly, received recognition April 19, 2016 as "Outstanding Student - Graduate and Professional Students." The UofL Student Awards are in their 16th year. Using criteria of leadership, service and involvement, a committee selects recipients from student nominations. Michael Mardis, Dean of Students and Vice Provost for Student Affairs and Interim Provost Neville Pinto helped present awards to students.

Graduation - Hooding Ceremony - December 2015

Venkat Ramakrishnan, Ph.D., with (L-R) Dr. Russell Salter, Co-Director, M.D/Ph.D. Program and Associate Dean for Graduate and Post-Graduate Studies, Dr. Beth Boehm, Vice Provost for Graduate Affairs, Dr. Nolan Boyd (mentor), President James Ramsey and Interim Provost Neville Pinto

Research!Louisville 2015 Awards - October 2015

Jordan Noe with Dr. Pam Feldhoff (Dr. Robert Mitchell, mentor)

Norton Healthcare Medical Student Award - Second Place

"Altered bioenergetics in alternative activation of MIF-deficient Macrophages"

Desmond Stewart with Dr. David Hein and Dr. Pam Feldhoff (Dr. Geoff Clark, mentor)

NCI Cancer Education Program Norbert J Burzynski Award Professional Student Category - First Place

"The Role of DAB2IP in RASSF-mediated Tumor Suppression"

Southeastern Medical Scientist Symposium, Nashville, TN - September 2015

(L-R) Doug Saforo, Peter Campbell, Sanet Steyn, Samantha Morrissey, Jordan Noe, Heather Clair

National MD/PhD Student Conference, Keystone, CO - July 2015

Dr. Michael Zhang, Jessica Sharpe, Dr. Venkat Ramakrishnan