Honors and recognitions

Mark Slaughter, M.D., was elected councilor of the Southern Thoracic Surgical Association. His term will run from Nov. 2015 – Nov. 2017.

Toni Ganzel, M.D., M.B.A., and Tony Simms were chosen as honorees for the inaugural “A Commitment to Compassion,” a special event recognizing health-care workers who exemplify true compassion to patients, colleagues and the broader community of Louisville.

Salvatore Bertolone, M.D., received the third annual Marc A. Lehmann Spirit of Service Award for physicians. The award recognizes Louisville-area physicians in hematology & oncology to honor long-standing service to patients and their families that encompasses exceptional proficiency, empathy and understanding.

Dee Antimisiaris, Pharm.D. (Family and Geriatric Medicine), Jay Hoying, Ph.D. (Cardiovascular Innovation Institute) and Mary Nan Mallory, M.D. (Emergency Medicine) are included in The Lane Report’s “Researchers to Watch” feature. The Lane Report, a Lexington-based, state-focused business publication, compiled brief profiles of 10 UofL and UK researchers for the feature story.

Lynnette Montgomery, Ph.D., post-doctoral fellow, received the 2015 Fritz Krauth Memorial Fellowship Award from the Paralyzed Veterans of America (PVA), for submitting the top scholarship application to the organization for the year.

Daniel T. Jackson, M.D., resident in Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, was awarded the Jeanne Spurlock, M.D. Congressional Fellowship of the American Psychiatric Association and the association’s related organization, the American Psychiatric Foundation.

Karan Chavis, chief of staff to the dean, was selected to participate in the Leadership Louisville Center’s Bingham Fellows Class of 2016. The group will address the topic of “Empowering citizens to lead healthier lives.”