Honors and recognitions

Honors and recognitions

Victoria Elliott and Bethany Hodge, M.D., M.P.H., received the “Outstanding Poster by a Trainee” award from the Southern Group on Education Affairs (SGEA) for “Mindfulness-based resilience training in graduate medical education: A systematic review”

The eQuality Project has won the 2017 SGEA Innovation in Medical Education Award of $5,000. Susan Sawning, Laura Weingartner, the eQuality Steering Committee and the UofL School of Medicine will be recognized at the SGEA Business Meeting during the AAMC Learn, Serve, Lead conference in Boston in November. The Award will be presented at the SGEA Regional Conference in April 2018 in Jackson, Mississippi.

Robert Hilgers, M.D., professor emeritus at UofL School of Medicine and founder of the Women’s Global Cancer Alliance, helped organize $95K of Medical supplies sent to Haiti via Supplies Over Seas. https://insiderlouisville.com/business/healthcare/louisville-organizations-send-95k-in-medical-supplies-to-haiti/

Amy Holthouser, M.D., and Stacie Steinbock were honored by Louisville Business First as “Best Innovators” for their work in educating future physicians regarding the best care for LGBTQ patients at the 2017 Health Care Hero Awards.  http://louisville.edu/medicine/news/uofl-educators-honored-by-louisville-business-first-for-preparing-future-physicians-to-care-for-lgbtq-patients

Olivia Mittel, M.D., received the Fitzbutler Humanitarian Award from the Student Government Association and the Gold Humanism Honor Society for her work in training medical students to recognize sex trafficking victims.

Takeichiro Nakane and Hidetoshi Masumoto, M.D., along with Bradley Keller, M.D., and other UofL researchers, have published another article in Scientific Reports on their research in engineered cardiac tissues using human induced pluripotent stem cells. https://www.nature.com/articles/srep29933


Jeffrey Callen, M.D., was awarded the Master Dermatologist Award by the American Academy of Dermatology

Darryl Kaelin, M.D., will be named president of the American Academy of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation in October

Kelly McMasters, M.D., was named president of the Western Surgical Association and president of the Society of Surgical Oncology for 2017-2018