Honors and recognitions

Honors and recognitions

Kandis Adkins, M.D., has been chosen to attend the Association of American Medical Colleges’ Minority Faculty Career Development Seminar in Atlanta. The AAMC sponsors the seminar for junior faculty and postdoctorate students who aspire to leadership positions in academic medicine.

Roberto Bolli, M.D., chief of UofL’s Division of Cardiovascular Medicine and director of the Cardiovascular Innovation Institute, received the Peter Harris Distinguished Scientist Award from the International Society for Heart Research.

Douglas Dean, Ph.D., the Robert W. Rounsavall Jr. and Gretchen C. Rounsavall Endowed Chair in Ocular Molecular Biology in the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, has been awarded the 2015 RPB Stein Innovation Award from Research to Prevent Blindness.

David L. Dunn, M.D., Ph.D., executive vice president for health affairs, was recognized by DentaQuest as one of its 2015 Health Equity Heroes for his work in making oral health care accessible to underserved populations.

Mary Fallat, M.D., chief of the Division of Pediatric Surgery, has received the UofL School of Medicine’s 2015 Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award.

Toni Ganzel, M.D., M.B.A., dean of the School of medicine, received the 2015 Tower Award in Science and Health Care from Presentation Academy on October 8.

Allan Josephson, M.D., chief of child and adolescent psychiatry and psychology in the Department of Pediatrics, received the 2015 Oskar Pfister Award from the American Psychiatric Association in recognition of his work on understanding the importance of the patient’s and clinician’s worldview in clinical psychiatry.

Charles Kodner, M.D., won the 2015 Dr. Thomas B. Calhoon Teaching Award.

The Percutaneous Valve Team of UofL Physicians and Jewish Hospital celebrated performing its 200th Transcather Aortic Valve Replacement (TAVR).

Tara Schapmire, Ph.D., M.S.S.W., assistant professor in the School of Medicine, received the Association of Oncology Social Work/American Cancer Society Leadership in Oncology Social Work Award for 2015 for contributions to the field of oncology social work and leadership through administration, education, clinical practice or research.

Charles R. Scoggins, M.D., M.B.A., professor and vice chairman of surgery, has won the University of Louisville 2015 President’s Distinguished Faculty Award for Teaching.

Monica Ann Shaw, M.D., M.A., (pictured at left) vice dean for the School of Medicine, received the Kentucky Medical Association’s Educational Achievement Award for 2015.

Eugene Shively, M.D., former UofL resident and surgeon with Taylor Regional Hospital in Campbellsville, Ky., has been selected to receive the 2015 Compassionate Physician Award at the 2015 Doctor’s Ball.

Andrew Smith, a third-year medical student, was selected as a member of the 2015-2016 Student Editorial Panel for Universal Notes, a subscription-based web application that assists students in preparation for Step 1, 2 and 3 exams as well as the National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME) assessments.