University of Louisville School & College Founding Dates

Current Academic Units

School/CollegeFounding DateOther Information
College of Arts & Sciences1907-*The University traces its origins to Jefferson Seminary, chartered in 1798
School of Medicine1837- 
School of Law1846- 
School of Dentistry1887-*Absorbed by U of L in 1918
Graduate School1915- 
School of Public Health and Information Sciences1919-Originally founded 1919 as the School of Public Health; absorbed into the School of Medicine in 1923; reactivated in 1998
Speed Scientific School1925- 
School of Music1932- 
Kent School of Social Work1936- 
College of Business and Public Administration1953- 
School of Education1968- 
School of Justice Administration1969-*Moved to College of Urban and Public Affairs 1983, then to College of Arts and Sciences 1992
School of Nursing1979- 

Academic Units No Longer in Existence

School/CollegeFounding DateOther Information
Jefferson Seminary1798-1829*Opened 1813
Louisville Medical Institute1837-1846*In 1846 became U of L's medical department
Louisville Collegiate Institute1837-1840 
Louisville College1840-1846*In 1846 became U of L's academic department
Jefferson School of Law1905-1950*Absorbed by U of L School of Law
University College1928-1982 
Louisville Municipal College1931-1951 
Kentucky Southern College1962-1969*Absorbed in 1969; became U of L's Shelby Campus
School of Allied Health Sciences1977-2002 
College of Urban and Public Affairs1983-1992 

For more information, see Dwayne D. Cox and William J. Morison, The University of Louisville (Lexington: University Press of Kentucky, 2000).