Spring 2016

Wednesday, January 27: Study Abroad Fair; 10:30am-2:30pm in the Red Barn. Come learn more about our program in Panama!

Saturday, February 6: Growing Up Global: The Opportunities and Challenges of Immigrant and Refugee Youth; 11:00am-4:00pm at the Muhammad Ali Center. This event is open to the public and admission is free with the donation of youth-related items.

Tuesday, February 9: Carnaval Around the World; 11:00am-1:00pm in the Red Barn.

Saturday, February 13: American International Relations Club (AIRC) International Banquet; 6:00-9:00pm in SAC Multipurpose Room.

Wednesday, February 17: Majors Fair; 11:00am-1:00pm in SAC Multipurpose Room.

Friday, February 19: “Net.art, arte útil, and Theory 2.0,” Spanish Keynote of the Louisville Conference by Dr. Debra Castillo; 3:15-4:15pm in Elaine Chao Auditorium of Ekstrom Library. Organized by the Spanish Section of the Department of Classical and Modern Languages.

Thursday, February 25: The Spanish Club presents Mesa de conversación; 12:00-1:00pm in the Cultural Center Conference Room.

Saturday, March 5: State of Latinos (SOL) in Louisville; 9:00am-12:00pm in Bigelow Hall of Miller IT. Co-Sponsors: The Muhammad Ali Institute for Peace & Justice, Cultural Center’s Hispanic and Latino Initiatives, La Casita Center, Americana Community Center, and Al Día en América.

Thursday, March 31: “Defying Convention: The US Resistance to the UN Treaty on Women’s Rights,” a Presentation on The Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) by Dr. Lisa Baldez of Dartmouth College; 2:30-4:00pm in Ekstrom Library, Room W104.

Wednesday, April 6: 9th Annual LALS Spring Showcase; 3:00-4:00pm in Shumaker Research Building, Room 139.

Tuesday, April 12: University Wide Undergraduate Research and Community Engagement Symposium; 12:30-4:00pm in Shumaker Research Building Foyer/Room 139. Abstracts due April 7.

April 16-24: Mayor’s Week of Service—Volunteering at Doors to Hope.

Monday, April 18: LALS Research Forum and Internship Poster Session; 9:00-9:50am in Stevenson 307.

May 3-28: 14th Annual Study Abroad Program in Panama.

Sunday, May 8: 4th Annual Cinco de Mayo Celebration; 1:00-9:00pm at 4th Street Live! Sponsored by the Kentucky Derby Festival.