Opening And Closing Accounts

 

Opening and Closing Accounts

Students are allowed to keep their computer accounts at the University of Louisville for 2 years past their last enrolled term, or for as long as they are admitted for a current or future term or currently enrolled.

Student Accounts

Semester

Accounts are Activated

Accounts are Closed

All

Terms

Accounts will open when the student is admitted or enrolled for a current or future term

In February, student accounts will close if the student is not currently admitted or has not been in enrolled status for the last 2 years.

 

 

In October, student accounts will close if the student is not currently admitted or has not been in enrolled status for the last 2 years.

 

 

 

Opening and Closing Employee Accounts

Employees are allowed to keep their computer accounts at the University of Louisville as long as they are actively employed.  Accounts are created or reopened the day the user is officially employed according to the Human Resources information in the University’s PeopleSoft system.  Accounts are closed the day the user is officially terminated from the University of Louisville.  No notifications are sent.

Part Time Lecturers (PTLs) are an exception to the above process.  These include employees whose pay groups are L12, L11, F11, F51, or G12. Their accounts are closed twice a year.  General time frames are listed in the table below. A note is sent to the Part Time Lecturers before the account is closed.

Employees

Accounts are Activated

Accounts are Closed

Accounts are Closed for PTLs

On the employee's first day according to the information in the Human Resources system

On the day after the employee's actual last day worked according to the information in the Human Resources system.

Twice a year:

Late February or early March if the PTL employee is not employed.

September or early October if the PTL employee is not employed.

 

Retirees

Retirees can now keep their UofL email accounts after retirement.  Alternatively Retirees can opt not to use this account and instead use the email forwarding service to keep receiving new email sent to their UofL address to an outside email address. 

PLEASE NOTE:  If a retiree does not access their email within six (6) months the email will be closed due to lack of use.

 

Revised April 2, 2014