Personal tools
Document Actions

Master of Education in Instructional Technology

Major: IT
Degree Awarded: MED
Unit: GE
Program Webpage:

Program Information

 Initial Requirements:

  1. Teaching certification in P-12 Area.
  2. Admission to the School of Interdisciplinary and Graduate Studies
  3. Admission to M.Ed. in Instructional Technology program (which requires completion of EDAP 585: Introduction to Educational Technology with B+ or higher or equivalent course/experience).
  4. Meeting with faculty advisor to discuss Kentucky Experienced Teacher Standards, UofL Program Themes, Conceptual Framework, and ISTE Technology Facilitation Standards.


CARDS 4 (Entry Assessment):  Admission to the School of Interdisciplinary and Graduate Studies and to the Instructional Computer Technology program; Self-Assessment on Kentucky Guide to Reflective Classroom Practice; Professional Growth Plan.
Research (3 hours)
ELFH 600 Introduction to Research Methods and Statistics OR 3
EDAP/EDSP 639 Education Research in the P-12 Setting
Leadership (6 hours) Instructor Permission required  
EDAP 677 Teacher Leadership: Mentoring and Coaching 3
EDAP 607 Teacher Leadership in Practice
Area of Emphasis (15 hours)  
EDAP 688 Designing a Technology Integrated Curriculum 1 3
EDAP 690 Teaching with Multimedia Tools 1
EDAP 587 Teaching and Learning Online 1 3
EDAP 687 Literacy, Teaching and Technology 3
EDAP 585 Introduction to Education Technology: Integrating Technology into Instruction 
Successful completion of 15 hours of Instructional Computer Technology coursework; self-assessment on Standards 1-4 of the Scored acceptable or target on Rubrics for Advanced Candidates (by advisor); acceptable Dispositions assessment, minimum GPA of 3.0. 
Electives (6 hours)  
EDAP 601 Teaching with Emerging Technologies 3
EDSP 618 Instructional Technology for Students with Special Needs 3
EDSP 689 Using the Internet in P12 Teaching 3

Other courses, as approved by advisor                                                        

CARDS 6 (Exit Assessment):  Successful completion of all required coursework, updated and revised Professional Growth Plan, final self-assessment on all standards of the Kentucky Guide to Reflective Practice.  Scored acceptable or target on Rubrics for Advanced Candidates (by faculty advisor)
Minimum total hours

1 Denotes Courses that are required for the endorsement.

Mid-Point Assessment:  
Review program on KY Experienced Teacher Standards, UofL Program Themes, Conceptual Framework, and ISTE Technology Facilitation Standards (2002); half of required KETS and ISTE Technology Facilitation standards and indicators met within portfolio work.
Degree Assessment:  Minimum GPA of 3.0; no grade lower than "C", acceptable portfolio.
Endorsement Assessment:
  1. All endorsement coursework completed.
  2. No lower than 3.0 GPA in endorsement courses and no credit accepted for grade lower than C.
  3. Review of Portfolio which includes Post-Program Self-Assessment.

Departmental Faculty

Jennifer Bay-Williams

Chair of Middle/Secondary Education Department

Debra Bauder

Associate Professor

Peggy Brooks

Coordinator of the Kentucky Teacher Internship Program

Sherri Brown
Associate Professor

Assistant Chair of Early Childhood/Elementary Education Department

William Bush

Director of Center for Research in Mathematics and Science Teacher Division

James Chisholm

Assistant Professor

Justin Cooper

Assistant Professor

Ginevra Courtade

Associate Professor

Tammy Davis


Monica Delano
Associate Professor

Director Doctoral Program

John Finch


Penny Howell

Associate Professor

Jill Jacobi-Vessels

Assistant Professor

Pam Jett


Karen Karp


Diane Kyle

Chair of Early Childhood/ Elementary Education Department

Timothy Landrum

Chair of Special Education

Ann Larson


Amy Lingo

Associate Professor

Maggie McGatha

Associate Professor

Lori Norton-Meier


Robert Pennington

Assistant Professor

Susan Peters

Assistant Professor

Terry Scott


Caroline Sheffield

Assistant Professor

Melissa Shirley

Assistant Professor

Thomas Simmons

Associate Professor

Steve Swan

Director of Instructional Technology Program

Shelley Thomas

Associate Professor

Thomas Tretter

Director of Gheens Science Hall and Rauch Planetarium

Ingrid Weiland

Assistant Professor

Kathryn Whitmore-Barten
Endowed Chair, Early Childhood Education

Director, Early Childhood Research Center

Jean Wolph

Director of Louisville Writing Project

Contact Information

Instructional Technology - MEd.

Stephen Swan

Powered by Plone CMS, the Open Source Content Management System

This site conforms to the following standards: