Dean's Office

Dean Ann E. Larson

Ann Larson

Dr. Ann Larson is the Dean of the College of Education and Human Development (CEHD) at the University of Louisville (UofL). She began her career at UofL in 1995 as an assistant professor while continuing her work on a Ph.D. in Curriculum and Instruction at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, which she completed in 1998. She has taught as faculty in undergraduate, master’s and doctoral programs while at the University.

Dr. Larson's research areas are curriculum studies, teacher education and teacher development, professional development schools, and English education. She was a Co-PI of a Title II, No Child Left Behind (NCLB) federal/state literacy grant for teacher professional development related to urban middle school student achievement and closing the achievement gap in literacy. Dr. Larson has also co-led two national and state accreditations of over 60 education preparation programs and co-led efforts to successfully obtain a Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education (KDE) Improving Educator Quality (IEQ) grant (2013-15) for the CEHD, which supported the implementation of a clinical model of teacher preparation in Jefferson County Public Schools (JCPS). Dean Larson and others in CEHD were pleased to receive gifts from the Mary K. Oxley Foundation of $5 million and University of Louisville Foundation of $2.5 million in 2014 to support a multi-year implementation of CEHD's clinical model of teacher and educational administration preparation in JCPS through the University’s Signature Partnership Initiative.

She co-edited a theme issue in the Peabody Journal of Education, Vanderbilt University, on "Clinical Partnerships in Teacher Education: Perspectives, Practices, and Outcomes.” She is active nationally in numerous professional associations and presents with colleagues and mentors students in these venues. Dr. Larson works closely with the Jefferson County Public Schools and the Ohio Valley Education Cooperative districts and schools in her administrative role as Dean.

Dr. Larson is also a professor in the CEHD's Department of Middle and Secondary Education and has served on numerous boards and committees including the JCPS Teacher Magnet Career Academy, Greater Louisville, Inc., Every 1 Reads Task Force and Education Committee member, committees of the Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB), the Kentucky Department of Education Commissioner’s Accountability Steering Committee, and has worked extensively with student teaching candidates and the Kentucky Teacher Internship Program (KTIP) of EPSB. Dr. Larson serves as a consultant for the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) certification for classroom teachers in Kentucky, as an Advisory Board member of the CEHD's Minority Teaching Recruitment Project, and served as UofL’s Commission on the Status of Women (COSW) Chair 2013-2015. Dr. Larson presently serves on the UofL Community Engagement Partnership Steering Committee with West Louisville, Co-Chairing with Ralph Fitzpatrick, UofL Vice President for Community Engagement, the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education's (AACTE) Board of Directors and Executive Committee, and is past-president of the Kentucky Association of Colleges of Teacher Education (KACTE), a state affiliate of AACTE. In 2014, she received the KACTE award for Distinguished Service to Educator Preparation in Kentucky.

Dean Larson is passionate about community engagement and P-12 district and school partnerships and is excited about UofL President Bendapudi’s commitment to the University being “a great place to learn, a great place to work, and a great place to invest where diversity and inclusion are integrated throughout UofL’s three pillars.”

Contact Dr. Larson at ann.larson @, or at 502-852-3235.

Dr. Larson's CV and profile page

CEHD Dean's Job Description