Selection Process and Timeline


Teams of faculty members are eligible to apply on behalf of their department or academic unit. The dean must endorse the application.

Selection Criteria

In order to be considered for the award, departments must demonstrate a sustained record of teaching excellence that meets the following criteria:

  • Commitment to exemplary teaching over time
  • Commitment to faculty development for teaching
  • Commitment to student success
  • Commitment to exemplary collaboration
  • Commitment to linking discovery, creative activity, and engagement with teaching and learning
  • Commitment to ongoing assessment and improvement of teaching and learning quality
  • Commitment to fulfilling the university's mission around educational excellence


As a means of fostering a vibrant teaching and learning culture at the University of Louisville, each year the recipients of the Paul Weber Award for Departmental Excellence in Teaching organize and lead a presentation that is open to the university community. The presentation is designed as an opportunity to share the winning department’s outstanding achievements with the university community. Additionally, Stage One [PDF] and Stage Two [PDF] application materials for the winning departments are posted on the Paul Weber Award website. Submission of an application indicates the department's willingness to abide by these requirements.


February 7, 2014 Call for applications
July 15, 2014 Stage One applications accepted
August 15, 2014 Deadline for Stage One applications
September 5, 2014 Finalists selected and invited to submit a Stage Two application
November 3, 2014 Deadline for Stage Two applications
November 3, 2014 to December 5, 2014 Selection committee conducts classroom and departmental observation visits
January 2015 Award selection committee makes award recommendation to the Provost
February 6, 2015 Announcement of award winner at Celebration of Teaching and Learning
Fall 2015 Award reception

Review Process

Departmental eligibility for consideration of an award is determined by a two-stage review process. In the first stage of the review process, each department on campus is invited to submit a brief application that briefly describes department activities that establish a commitment to teaching excellence.

Department applications judged favorably in the initial screening and review process will be identified as finalists and will be invited to submit a more detailed “Stage Two” application, which includes classroom and departmental faculty meeting observations. See “Stage Two Application” and “Stage Two Observation Guidelines” for more information. View the Stage One application evaluation rubric here [PDF].

Award Selection Committee

The award selection committee is appointed annually by the Provost to review departmental documentation in support of teaching and learning excellence, and to conduct departmental observations. The selection committee will be established with membership as follows:

  • Four current faculty members appointed from past recipients of the President’s Distinguished Faculty Award in Teaching
  • One faculty member selected from departments who have previously received the Paul Weber Award for Departmental Excellence in Teaching
  • One faculty member selected from past recipients of the “top” Faculty Favorite” Award
  • One member of the Office of the Provost’s senior staff
  • One representative from the Delphi Center for Teaching and Learning (Ex Officio)
  • One undergraduate student
  • One graduate student
  • Maddie Reno-Weber, wife of Dr. Paul Weber

Faculty members appointed to the selection committee were asked to serve for a two-year term. Terms of faculty will be staggered to ensure consistency of the review process across annual review cycles. For the 2013-2014 review cycle only, appointments will be staggered two- and three-year terms. Students will serve one-year terms and may serve up to two terms depending on availability. Once formed, the committee will elect a committee chair and co-chair annually. Administrative support to the selection committee will be provided by the Delphi Center for Teaching and Learning.

The awards selection committee will offer its recommendations for the award winner to the Provost, who will make the final decision.

2013-2014 Paul Weber Award Selection Committee Members

Beth Boehm, Faculty/Dean, School of Interdisciplinary and Graduate Studies

Marie Kendall Brown, Staff, Delphi Center for Teaching and Learning, Ex Officio

Adrienne Bratcher, Faculty, CEHD

Andy Frey, Faculty, Kent School of Social Work

Paul Griner, Faculty, Arts & Sciences

Amy Holthouser, Faculty, School of Medicine

Maddie Reno-Weber

TBD, Graduate Student

Larry Tyler, Faculty, Speed School

Kandi Walker, Faculty, Arts & Sciences

TBD, Undergraduate Student

^ Top of Page