Commission on the Status of Women

Ann Elisabeth Larson

Greetings from Ann Elisabeth Larson, the Chair of the Commission on the Status of Women at UofL!  If you’re not familiar with the Commission, I hope this website will update you on much of the positive work the Commission has been doing at the University for twenty years. 

The COSW actually came into existence after a Task Force Committee was assembled in 1993 to evaluate the status of women at the University. The Task Force compiled an impressive report which included nearly fifty recommendations that, if adopted, would positively impact the campus community and recommended the creation of the Commission on the Status of Women. The Commission consists of dedicated staff and faculty members who are appointed by President Ramsey as well as constituents from the Commission on Diversity and Racial Equality (CODRE), Staff and Student Senates, and Ex-Officio members from the Vice Provost for Diversity and International Affairs Office, Human Resources, Women and Gender Studies, PEACC and the Women’s Center.