Fall 2005

Faculty Seminars

Seminars are held in the Chemistry Building, Room LL16 at 4:00 p.m. on Fridays unless otherwise specified. Refreshments are served at 3:45 p.m. For more information call (502) 852-6798.

September 2

Dr. Junji Ichikawa, The University of Tokyo
Construction of Ring Systems by Using Fluorine as an Activator and a Controller

September 9

Dr. Norman Lewis, Washington State University

September 16

Dr. Pedro Romero, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
HumanCyc: Inferring the Human Metabolic Network From the Human Genome

September 23

Dr. Robert L. Lichter, Merrimack Consultants

September 30

Professor Donald J. Burton, University of Iowa
A New General Approach to a-Halo-b,b-difluorostyrenes

October 7

Dr. Shawn Hitchcock, Illinois State University (rescheduled to February 10, 2006)
Intramolecular Chiral Relay at Stereogenic Nitrogen: The Evolutionary Design of Oxadiazinones as Chiral Auxiliaries

October 21

Dr. Richard Wittebort, University of Louisville
Structure, Dynamics and Protein Recognition in an Intrinsically Disordered Protein: NMR Studies of the Elastic PEVK Segment of Titin

October 28

Hongcai Joe Zhou, Miami University (Ohio)
The first active-site analogue for the all-ferrous iron protein of nitrogenase

November 4

Dr. William R. Dolbier, University of Florida

November 11

Dr. Jeffrey MacDonald, University of North Carolina
NMR-Compatible Bioreactors for Toxicity Studies and Tissue Engineering

November 18

Jonathan B. Chaires, James Graham Brown Cancer Center, University of Louisville

December 2

James Felton, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Heterocyclic amines in cooked food: Are they more than just potent mutagens?

Student Seminars

Graduate student seminars are held in the Chemistry Building, Room LL-16 at 2:30 p.m. on Thursdays unless otherwise specified. For more information, call (502) 852-6798.

September 29

Andres Puppato

October 6

Rosendo Estrada

October 13

Danielle Franco

October 20

Pawel Lorkiewicz

October 27

Giulia Isetti

November 3

Satoru Arimitsu

November 10

Lynn DeLeeuw

November 17

Grzegorz Slawinski

December 1

Marek Wlodarczyk

December 8

Piotr Mroz