2010-2011 Spring Cohort Information


Sharon E. Moore is professor of social work at the Raymond A. Kent School of Social Work at the University of Louisville.  She is the author and co-author of numerous journal articles among which are “Theological and practice issues surrounding domestic violence: How can the African American Church help victims?”, “Empowering young African American Males for the 21st century: A collaboration between a university and an African American church.”, “The Benefits, Challenges, and Strategies of African American Faculty Teaching at Predominantly White Institutions” and “The ABC’s pf tenure: What all African American faculty should know”. She is the co-author of the text Social Work Practice with Culturally Diverse People by Sage. Dr. Moore has presented papers, conducted seminars and served as a keynote speaker on these issues at state, national and international conferences.  In 2004, she was awarded the Presidential Exemplary Multicultural Teaching Award by the University Of Louisville, and in 2006 she became only the second African American to become a full professor at the Raymond A. Kent School of Social Work since the program began in 1939.

David S. Owen is Associate Professor of Philosophy and Director of Diversity Programs for the College of Arts & Sciences.  He has conducted diversity programming for over eight years, and conceived and developed the ITC program.

Cohort Meetings

Cohort 1

FacilitatorProfessor Sharon Moore
LocationEkstrom W210
Time10:00 am - 11:30 am
Dates and Topics
  • Mon, Jan 31 — Topic TBA
  • Mon, Feb 28 — Topic TBA
  • Mon, Mar 28 — Topic TBA
  • Mon,  Apr 25 — Topic TBA

Cohort 2

FacilitatorProfessor David Owen
LocationAnne Braden Institute, Ekstrom Library
Time12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
Dates and Topics
  • Wed, Feb 2 — Teaching working class students
  • Wed, Mar 2 — Teaching working class students
  • Wed, Mar 30 — Teaching working class students
  • Tue, Apr 27 — Teaching working class students