Diversity Champion Award

WHO IS ELIGIBLE: This award is for faculty and staff of the College of Arts & Sciences who embody a commitment to diversity and to constructing an inclusive campus community.

WHAT IS AWARDED: $500 and a plaque-mounted certificate

TOTAL AWARDS: 2 (submit one nomination packet per nominee per category)

  • Faculty
  • Staff

CRITERIA: A Diversity Champion demonstrates these qualities:

  • an understanding that a commitment to diversity means focusing on dismantling the unjust structures that systematically marginalize or exclude some, while privileging and advantaging others
  • works consistently to promote an inclusive campus community at UofL
  • an on-going commitment to diversity
  • an understanding of how the commitment to diversity is an integral part of the College’s mission and inseparable from the goal of excellence in achieving that mission
  • goes beyond their job description or student responsibilities to accomplish these objectives


Faculty Diversity Champion Award
Dr. Derrick Brooms
Assistant Professor, Sociology


Faculty Diversity Champion Award
Tommy Parker
Department of Biology

Faculty Diversity Champion Award
Melissa Groenewold
Department of Modern Languages

Exemplary Department Diversity Award
Department of Communications


Faculty Diversity Champion Award
Manuel Medina


Faculty Diversity Champion Award 
Dewey Clayton
Gabriela Nunez (honorable mention)

Staff Diversity Champion Award 
Narjis Nichole Abdul-Majid