A&S Faculty Assembly Minutes March 30, 2007

College of Arts and Sciences

Faculty Assembly Meeting

March 30, 2007

Registering Attendance:

 BiologyC. Corbitt,
ChemistryR. Buchanan
Classical & Modern Lang

R. Buchanan, W. Cunningham, M. Dalle, J. Greene, G. Hutcheson, A. Leidner, A. Mastri, F. Nuessel, W. Pfeffer, C. Sullivan, L. Wagner, L. Zeng

CommunicationS. Esrock, A. Futrell

K. Chandler, J. Dietrich, D. Hall, S. Henke, E. Lin,C. Mattingly, A. Rabin, G. Ridley, J. Webb, B. Willey, B. Williams

Geography/GeosciencesC. Hanchette,
HistoryB. Adams, J. McLeod, K. Spierling
HumanitiesA. Allen, P. Beattie, K. Gray, E. Wise
MathematicsL. Larson, T. Riedel, D. Swanson
Pan-African StudiesJ.B. Hudson
PhilosophyA. Kolers, D. Owen
Political Science

A. Caldwell, J. Farrier, T. Gray, R. Payne, L. Rhodebeck, C. Ziegler

Psychological and Brain Sciences P. DeMarco, S. Meeks
SociologyJ. Beggan,
Women’s & Gender StA. Harris, D. Heinecken, N. Theriot

Professor Hall chaired the meeting in the absence of Professors Byers and Stenger.

Professor Dietrich moved the following change to the Position Description for the Deanof the College or Arts and Sciences (addendum to the College By-Laws, p.8): that “The Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences shall be responsible directly to the Office of the President…” be changed to “…shall be responsible directly to the Executive Vice President and University Provost.”

The motion was seconded.

The Chair announced that the second reading of the proposed change to the by-laws would be April 20.

There being no further business before the Assembly, the meeting was adjourned.