Louise Glück

Life the Mind Series

A&S "Life of the Mind" Event

Louise Glück Reading

  • Thursday, March 29
  • 7:30pm
  • Chao Auditorium, Ekstrom Library

The Anne and William Axton Reading Series in the Department of English welcomes 2003 U.S. Poet Laureate and Pulitzer Prize-Winner in Poetry, Louise Glück.

Poet Louise Glück will read on March 29

Louise Glück is the author of numerous books of poetry, including The Seven Ages (Ecco Press, 2001); Vita Nova (1999), winner of The New Yorker Magazine’s Book Award in Poetry; Meadowlands (1996); The Wild Iris (1992), which received the Pulitzer Prize and the Poetry Society of America's William Carlos Williams Award; Ararat (1990), for which she received the Rebekah Johnson Bobbitt National Prize for Poetry; and The Triumph of Achilles (1985), which received the National Book Critics Circle Award, the Boston Globe Literary Press Award, and the Poetry Society of America's Melville Kane Award.

She has also published a collection of essays, Proofs and Theories: Essays on Poetry (1994), which won the PEN/Martha Albrand Award for Nonfiction. A chapbook, October, was published by Saraband Books in 2003. Glück’s tenth book of poetry is Averno (FSG, spring 2006).

Her honors include the Bollingen Prize in Poetry, the Lannan Literary Award for Poetry, Sara Teasdale Memorial Prize ( Wellesley, 1986), M.I.T. Anniversary Medal (2000), and fellowships from the Guggenheim and Rockefeller foundations, and from the National Endowment for the Arts.

Louise Glück taught at Williams College for 20 years and is currently Rosenkranz writer-in-residence at Yale University; she lives in Cambridge, Massachusetts. She is a member of the American Academy & Institute of Arts & Letters, and in 1999 Louise Glück was elected a Chancellor of The Academy of American Poets. In 2003, Louise Glück was named as the new judge for the Yale Series of Younger Poets (she will serve through 2007).

In September 2003, Louise Glück was appointed United States Poet Laureate (2003-2004) by the Librarian of Congress.

Reading: Thursday, March 29, 7:30pm Chao Auditorium, Ekstrom Library

About the Anne and William Axton Reading Series

The Anne and William Axton Reading Series was established in 1999 through the generosity of the late William Axton, former University of Louisville English professor, and his wife, Anne. The Series brings highly distinguished poets and writers from across the country to the University of Louisville for two-day visits to read from their work, and to share their knowledge and expertise with the University and local community.