Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools
You are here: Home Hall of Honor
A&S Hall of Honor

2011-12 A&S Hall of Honor Inductions

On February 16, 2012, five new members will be inducted into the College of Arts and Sciences Hall of Honor. Dean Blaine Hudson cordially invites you to join us in celebrating these remarkable individuals:

The 2011-12 Hall of Honor Induction Ceremony will be held Thursday, February 16, 2012 at 6pm in the Speed Art Museum Auditorium. A reception will follow the ceremony. Free and open to the public. For more event details, see: Hall of Honor 2012 Event

Please notify us if you plan to attend: 852-3252 or or Online RSVP (external link)

The College of Arts and Sciences Hall of Honor

Arnow HOH banner Allen HOH banner Breslin HOH banner Bridgeman HOH banner Clement HOH banner Crawford HOH banner Cronholm HOH banner Edwards HOH banner Farnsley HOH banner Gilliam HOH banner Gilliam HOH banner Grafton HOH banner Gleason HOH banner Gerhard HOH banner Jones HOH banner Laemmel HOH banner McConnell HOH banner Monroe HOH banner Norman HOH banner Oppenheimer HOH banner Parrish HOH banner Patterson HOH Banner Tachau HOH banner Threlkeld HOH banner Unitas HOH banner Unseld HOH banner Weber HOH banner

2007 A&S Hall of Honor "Centennial Class" Inductions

A new tradition is established during the 2007 A&S Centennial Celebration

In November 9, 2007, more than 200 alumni and friends of the college gathered at the Brown Hotel for the "A&S Centennial Celebration and Hall of Honor Induction."

The inaugural class of 20 inductees included a wide range of A&S alumni, former faculty and administrators, and others who helped shape the college we see today.

Dean Blaine Hudson writes, "The Centennial Class of inductees included only a few of the many faculty and administrators who built and sustained the College, and only a few of the former students who achieved distinction in their lives after U of L.  Thus, the creation of the Hall of Honor was not, nor was it intended to be, a one-time event, but the beginning of a new annual tradition— a tradition with no sunset date as long as A&S continues to attract world-class faculty, staff and students."

Hall of Honor 2007 group photo

Hall of Honor spacer graphic

2008-09 A&S Hall of Honor Inductions

In February 2009, four former A&S faculty and administrators were inducted to the Hall of Honor, recognizing their lasting contributions to the college and university.


Hall of Honor 2009 inductions group with caption

Hall of Honor spacer graphic

2009-10 A&S Hall of Honor inductions

Four new members were inducted into the A&S Hall of Honor on Thursday, February 25, 2010:

  • Lucy M. Freibert, English professor emerita. A champion of gender equity and racial equality, she taught UofL's first women's studies course and helped establish the women's and gender studies department and UofL's Women's Center. She received the Trustees Award in 1991 for her impact on students. Full bio: Lucy M. Freibert, A&S Hall of Honor
  • Eliza Atkins Gleason, former head librarian, teacher and library department founder at UofL's segregated Louisville Municipal College, later was absorbed into the College of Arts and Sciences. Considered the first African American to earn a library science doctorate, she died in 2009. Full bio: Eliza Atkins Gleason, A&S Hall of Honor
  • Gerhard Herz, professor emeritus and music history department chair for 22 years. The renowned Bach scholar was a founding member of the American Bach Society and Louisville Chamber Music Society and a 20-year board member of the Louisville Orchestra. He died in 2000. Full bio: Gerhard Herz, A&S Hall of Honor
  • Phil Laemmle, former political science and liberal studies chair and professor emeritus. He also served as university ritualist, presiding over more than 30 commencements and two UofL presidential inaugurations. He got UofL's first Trustees Award in 1989 for his impact on students. Full bio: Phil Laemmle, A&S Hall of Honor

Hall of Honor spacer graphic

2011-12 A&S Hall of Honor Inductions

On February 16, 2012, five new members are to be inducted to the A&S Hall of Honor:

  • Dario Covi
  • Riffat Hassan
  • Richard Northern
  • Sheila A. Schuster
  • Arthur J. Slavin
Personal tools