MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE UNIVERSITY OF LOUISVILLE

June 15, 2017

In Open Session

Members of the University of Louisville Board of Trustees met at 1:31 p.m. on June 15, 2017, in the Jefferson Room of Grawemeyer Hall, with members present and absent as follows:

Present: Mr. David Grissom, Chairman Pro Tempore

Mr. William Armstrong

Ms. Bonita Black Mr. Brian Cromer Ms. Sandra Frazier Ms. Diane Medley Mr. James Rogers Mr. Nitin Sahney Mr. John Schnatter

Prof. Enid Trucios-Haynes

Mr. Aaron Vance Dr. Ron Wright

From the

University: Dr. Greg Postel, Interim President and Interim Exec. VP for Health Affairs

Dr. Dale Billingsley, Acting Executive Vice President and University Provost Dr. William Pierce, Executive Vice President for Research and Innovation Ms. Leslie Strohm, Vice President for Strategy and General Counsel

Mr. Tom Jurich, Athletic Director and VP for Athletics

Mr. Keith Inman, Vice President for University Advancement

Ms. Susan Howarth, Interim CFO

Mr. Lee Smith, Interim COO (arrived at 12:16 p.m.)

Dr. Toni Ganzel, Dean, School of Medicine

Mr. Kevin Miller, Assoc. Athletic Director

Dr. Michael Mardis, Dean of Students

Mr. Kenny Klein, Associate Athletic Directors

Ms. Ingrid Gentry, Interim Controller

Ms. Jeanell Hughes, Associate Vice President for Human Resources

Mr. Gary Mans, Director of Media Relations, HSC

Ms. Cheri Jones, Interim Assoc. VP for Audit and Compliance

Ms. Cindy Hess, Director, Communications and Marketing (arrived at 11:49 a.m.)

Mr. John Karman, Director of Media Relations

Mr. Rick Graycarek, Director of Budget and Finance

Mr. Chris Hodgkins, Budget Analyst

Mr. Michael Morsovillo, Budget Analyst

Personnel Matters

Dr. Wright made a motion, which Ms. Frazier seconded, to approve the following personnel recommendations:

From June 15, 2017:

Law

Lars Smith, LL.M., JD, Professor (Tenured) of Law, the Samuel J. Stallings Chair in Law, and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs; additional appointment as Interim Dean of the Louis D. Brandeis School of Law, July 1, 2017 through December 31, 2017. Appointment as Interim Dean is at the pleasure of the Board of Trustees.

Public Health and Information Sciences

Timothy Wiemken, PhD, Assistant Professor (Term) of Medicine (School of Medicine); change of appointment and promotion to Associate Professor (Probationary) of Epidemiology and Population Health (School of Public Health and Information Sciences) effective June 19, 2017.

JB Speed School of Engineering

Gail DePuy, PhD, Professor (Tenured) of Industrial Engineering and Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs; additional appointment as Interim Dean of the Speed School of Engineering effective July 1, 2017. Appointment as Interim Dean is at the pleasure of the Board of Trustees.

From May 18, 2017:

Administration

Jason Chesney, MD, PhD, Professor (Tenured) of Medicine and Pharmacology and Toxicology and Brinkley Chair in Lung Cancer Research; additional appointment as Associate Vice President for Health Affairs and Director of the James Graham Brown Cancer Center; change of appointment from Brinkley Chair in Lung Cancer Research to James Graham Brown Foundation Chair, May 18, 2017. Appointments as Associate Vice President and Director of the James Graham Brown Cancer Center are at the pleasure of the Board of Trustees.

Daniel Durbin, MPA, West Virginia University; Associate Vice President for Health Affairs and Health Sciences Center Chief Financial Officer, July 1, 2017. Appointment as Associate Vice President is at the pleasure of the Board of Trustees.

Kevyn Merten, PhD, Assistant Vice President for Research and Innovation; promotion to Associate Vice President for Research and Innovation, July 1, 2017. Appointment as Associate Vice President for Research and Innovation is at the pleasure of the Board of Trustees.

Arts and Sciences

Craig Grapperhaus, PhD, Professor (Tenured); additional appointment as Chair of Department of Chemistry, July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2020. Appointment as Department Chair is at the pleasure of the Board of Trustees.

Business

Jay Brandi, PhD, Professor (Tenured) and Interim Chair of Department of Finance; change of appointment to Chair of Department of Finance, July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2022. Appointment as Department Chair is at the pleasure of the Board of Trustees.

Law

Colin Crawford, JD, Harvard Law School; Professor with tenure and Dean of the Louis D. Brandeis School of Law and Associate in the Department of Urban and Public Affairs (College of Arts and Sciences), January 1, 2018. Appointment as Dean is at the pleasure of the Board of Trustees.

Medicine

Dwayne Compton, EdD, Instructor (Term) of Medicine and Executive Director of Diversity Initiatives; change of appointment to Instructor (Term) of Medicine and Associate Dean for Community Engagement and Diversity, July 1, 2017. Appointment as Associate Dean is at the pleasure of the Board of Trustees.

Public Health and Information Sciences

Karunarathna Kulasekera, PhD, Professor (Tenured) and Chair of Department of Bioinformatics and Biostatistics; additional appointment as Assistant Dean for Academic Affairs, July 1, 2017. Appointments as Department Chair and Assistant Dean are at the pleasure of the Board of Trustees.

The motion passed with Mr. Armstrong opposed.